Tug-o-War between the 2nd grade and Ms. Edgar, Mr. Ham and Mr Fishman seconds before the rope broke! (Photo: Meg Brinckman)

To mark the culmination of their elementary school days, the rising fifth graders at Amidon-Bowen Elementary School were honored June 12 at a well-attended Promotion Ceremony. Principal Izabela Miller presented special awards for outstanding performance to fifth graders Jerimiah Barbour, Shomari Edwards, Robert Freeman and Chinwe Melifonwu.

Alan Gropman, Ph.D., representing the Industrial College of the Armed Forces at National Defense University at Fort McNair, presented certificates and pictures to all fifth graders who participated in the trip to the Battlefield in Gettysburg. Gropman has sponsored field trips for Amidon-Bowen since 2005.

Local poet Joy Matthews Alford delivered the keynote address, in which she outlined the things students need to keep in mind as they progress through their education and beyond.

Miller expressed special thanks to Ms. Hugee, Mr. Jankowski and Ms. Worthington, who led the 43 members of the fifth-grade class to a successful close of their elementary school experience.

On June 13, the entire school participated in a Fun Day, featuring “Moon Bounce,” ball games and tug-of-war.  The tug-of-war between the second grade and Special Educator Suzanne Edgar, Assistant Principal Dwayne Ham and Counselor Eric Fishman was one of the highlights of a relaxing day for all.  No winner was established, because the rope broke seconds into the contest, providing a great laugh for all.

Interior renovation of Amidon-Bowen has already begun. New classrooms and administrative areas will be dedicated Sept. 8. Plans also are being developed to renovate the playground areas.

The 2012-13 school year starts Aug. 27.

The Amidon-Bowen Class of 2012

Ms. Hugee’s class:
Perrion Ballinger
*Aleema Banks
*Jerimiah Barbour
Tanyia Braford
Marcus Brockington
Jasmine Clark
Ja’Von Coats
*Jalin Davis
Jamika DeVaughn
*Shomari Edwards
*Ernest Egbuna
Clarence Eggleston
Trevon Evans
*Robert Freeman
*Kasmira Fudge

Mr. Jankowski’s class
Davon Haney
Dayonna Harris
*Tyeshia Hines
Niya Holland
John Holmes
Markell Howard
*Natalia Jackson
*Natalia Jackson
Tavon Lucas
Kevin Mack
Jomiah Matthews
Denitra McDonald
*Chinwe Melifonwu
Azaysha Mulkey
Jaida Murray

Ms. Worthington’s class:
Angel Parker
Kayla Primus
*Dayonna Queen
Bria Reid
Jonovan Smith
Vernon Smith
Seth Sparks
Canesha Taylor
Matthew Thompson
Samone Triplett
Breana Vann
William Whitaker
*Aaliyah Wilkinson

*Honor Roll Students

–By Meg Brinckman

One thought on “Amidon-Bowen Fifth-Graders Honored at Promotion Ceremony”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.